by syaffolee

Memes

Booking Through Thursday: Letters! We Get Letters….

Have you ever written an author a fan letter?

Once, during fifth grade for a class assignment. It was to one of my favorite authors at the time, Gary Paulsen.

Did you get an answer?

Sort of. It was a form letter.

Did it spark a conversation? A meeting?

No.

Well, what can I say? It was a form letter. I didn’t have the incentive or the inclination to write back to Paulsen. I figured he was too busy writing books and too inundated with fan letters to even find the time to write back.

I suppose these days it’s easier to send an author an e-mail, but I still don’t do it. It’s not because of the possibility that I might get a form letter back. It’s because I’m a terrible e-mail correspondent. I wait until the last possible minute to reply or to even send a message in the first place. This is not the fault of anyone else and it’s not because I don’t like the people who e-mail me–I do this to everyone. And if no one is threatening me with a deadline, who knows when I’ll respond. (Maybe next month?)

Also, with author (and editor) blogs, it’s easy to visit and comment, but I end up lurking. The last time I tried commenting, I think the editor mistook me for a troll and laid the smackdown on me. And I’m sure if any author knew that my book reviews are not universal praise, they would probably think I’m evil. By my words alone, most people probably do not perceive me as a very comfortable person (no gushing or smilies to temper my prose), so I have my doubts about people wanting to continue a conversation with me even if I initiated it.

Addendum: Okay, so I have met the professors who have authored some of the textbooks I’ve used. But I doubt they remember me.

* * *
The Thursday Threesome: Writing your Blog

Onesome: Writing– on the web: Do you consider yourself a writer, in that you provide a narrative of some sort? …or a responder, wherein you primarily work the meme circuit?

I’m a writer, in both the blogging sense and the more traditional sense. Of course, recently it seems like I’m a responder since the more recent posts have mostly been the weekly memes, but that’s because real life has been very busy. (When you find yourself not sleeping and still not having enough hours in the day to do stuff, you know you’re busy.)

Twosome: your– place: did you do your own design? …or did you pick out something from the established templates?

Yes, I did my own design. But don’t take that as a sign that I actually know what I’m doing when it comes to web page coding.

Threesome: Blog– this! What’s your favorite type of thing to run across that you just can’t wait to get to the computer to post? Photos count, but for the photobloggers (like Laurie and me), what is it that you just know you won’t be able to hold on to for even a day?

Hm. This is a hard one to answer because I’m not exactly an impulse blogger. I find it really tempting to blog about things that annoy me, though.

