by syaffolee

Memes

Booking Through Thursday: Indoctrination

When growing up did your family share your love of books?

My family is not as obsessed with books as I am, but they do understand the value of books. My Dad doesn’t read that much–all I’ve seen him read are newspapers, computer programming manuals, and skimming through The Lord of the Rings (but only after much nudging by me). My Mom is more the book person, but she prefers looking at craft books in English and histories and novels in Chinese. My sister understands my mild bibliomania and reading habits the best (although she is younger than me, so one could argue that I indoctrinated her), but she prefers contemporary romance (I do not).

If so, did one person get you into reading?

I remember buying books and going to the library with my Mom when I was very young. However, I don’t remember if my parents actually sat me down and taught me to read. I’m mostly positive that I knew my letters by about four-years-old. I say mostly, because I can’t recall exactly when words actually started making sense to me.

And, do you have any family-oriented memories with books and reading? (Family trips to bookstore, reading the same book as a sibling or parent, etc.)

I do remember family trips to various bookstores and libraries, but it was more in the context of general shopping, i.e. the bookstore or library was also in the same direction as the grocery store/clothing shops/etc. so might as well stop there too. Otherwise, the idea of reading with my family seems really odd to me–I’ve always considered reading a solitary activity. Sometimes I swap books with my sister, but other than that, everyone has different tastes in reading so it’s kind of impossible to get the entire family to read one book.

* * *
The Thursday Threesome: Calculators may not be Used

Onesome: Calculators– and such: are you good with numbers? Do you have a calculator built in? …or does the presence of a second column demand some help from something electronic?

If you asked my teachers in third grade, they would say, NO. Compared with other kids, I wasn’t. Now, I’m okay with numbers. Looking at standardized test scores, I’m probably better at numbers than some people (maybe even most people). But this does not make me a mathematician. And of course, there’s this old joke about biologists not knowing any math…

Twosome: may not be– where you left them. Hmmm… What have you misplaced lately? You know: the item you are flat positive you left in one spot but somehow mysteriously migrated to another!

Aside from books, I subscribe to the minimalist way of organizing things. The less stuff cluttering the place, the better. Now, since I don’t believe in having a minimum number of books (and my bookshelves aren’t organized in any sort of system either) one would think that if I misplaced anything, it might be a book. Nope. I know where all the titles are despite the crazed stacks.

Threesome: Used– cars? When you buy, do you buy new? …or do you go for those with a few thousand miles on them?

Used cars are more practical. Throwing away money on a new car just to get the latest, just to be cool, just so you can one-up the Joneses is sort of stupid and shallow. If the car can get me from one place to another, that’s already a big plus for me. I don’t need to impress anyone.

