by syaffolee

Non-Existent Viewing Habits

I don’t have a television. I don’t watch YouTube. I have no plans to install plug-ins on my browser which would enable me to watch videos and flash files. (Yeah, so for all you bloggers who’ve been trigger happy with the video embedding–pffft!) Which probably explains a lot of things. But that doesn’t mean that I don’t occasionally watch movies or shows.

So in between lulls of travel show series (exactly when is Michael Palin’s New Europe coming out anyway?), I’ve been watching Mushishi, an episodic fantasy/supernatural/horror anime. I suppose one could compare it to Miyazaki’s Spirited Away and probably even more closely to Tactics and xxxHolic. I like both the folklorish and philosophical aspects of Mushishi, the clash between man and mushi (literally “bugs” but more like inscrutable nature spirits) whenever the two intersect. However, a note to slasher flick fans: you’ll probably doze off before the opening credits are even finished. It’s quiet but creepy–the deceptively sedate pace gradually builds up the uneasiness factor. I love the subtle horror in the seemingly everyday–perhaps that’s why I have little interest in watching live-action supernatural shows.

