by syaffolee

Linkage

Writers and Secret Identities. Hm. If I were to have a pseudonym (not including the one for this blog), I say I would do it for the mix of three reasons: not being too ethnic, hiding my gender, and protecting my professional life. Actually, now that I think about it, the need to separate professional and literary probably trumps ethnicity and gender.

Teacher assigns homework–to parents. Ack. Is this teacher nuts? You don’t know what the parents’ backgrounds are. Example: my parents weren’t educated in the west. They don’t know who Kafka is. And I bet a lot of other parents don’t know either. So stop trying to turn normal parents into hovering helicopter parents and let the kids do their own damn work. (Of course, there are kids who need help, but sometimes, you can’t turn to the parents for it.)

