by syaffolee

Memes

For those of you wondering where I have been–I’m working on Nanowrimo. If I write like a fiend, I might reach 50k today.

* * *

Booking Through Thursday: Connecting Words

Joanna and Brad are asking about “connecting words,” and they don’t mean conjunctions like “and” or “but.” No, what they’re looking for are unique, or treasured words that we’ve found out and about in our daily travels, words that might not be common usage, or often heard, but which struck a chord for some reason.” –originally via Confident Writing

I have a special fondness for the word “scintillating”. I’m not quite sure why, but I do. (Refer to my review of the book 100 Words To Make You Sound Smart.) Lately, I’ve been thinking of the word “skirl”. It’s a cat of a word, pricking at the edges of my mind when I need to be the least distracted and then flitting away like imaginary dust motes when I try to catch it, daring me to use it in my Nano novel.

* * *
The Thursday Threesome: Over the Years

Onesome: Over– and under. Above and below. Up and down. How’s about at least a pair (three would be ideal) of matching phrases?

Hot and cold.
Thick and thin.
Paper or plastic?

Twosome: the– next day? Black Friday! Are you going shopping? Decorating? Working? Hiding in the closet?

I will be writing like a maniac. No shopping for me!

Threesome: Years– of research have proven that more years of research are needed! What would you like to see researched? …and don’t go high; this is ‘just us folks’ here; I’m thinking: whether there’s enough cheese in mac and cheese!

Well, in that case, you might like how the people who award the Ig Nobel Prizes think. I’ve always wondered why a particular supermarket in town always has a kazillion people shopping there (except maybe around one in the morning) when there are several other supermarkets nearby. (Low prices? Variety of products? Exact location? Availability of bulk?)

