by syaffolee

Memes

Booking Through Thursday: Catalog

Do you use any of the online book-cataloguing sites, like LibraryThing or Shelfari? Why or why not? (Or . . . do you have absolutely no idea what I’m talking to?) If not an online catalog, do you use any other method to catalog your book collection? Excel spreadsheets, index cards, a notebook, anything?

I use LibraryThing, which I have to say, is well worth the twenty-five bucks for a lifetime membership.

The aspect I’m most fond of is the tags. Combined with the tags that I and other users give a book, this is a far more accurate way of sorting out books than those little labels publishers and marketing departments put on the spines. And this makes it easier when you want to find books on a certain subject or theme. Want to find a cyberpunk mystery or sword and sorcery that’s also considered literature? Well now you can!

Another note: There’s a follow-up from last week’s BTT here and here. Just reading all those entries would surely increase your vocabulary.

* * *
The Thursday Threesome: ‘Tis the Season!

Onesome: ‘Tis– Hmmm… More or less an older contraction? Do you have any semi-archaic words you use regularly? (Yes, Laurie, “allegro” would qualify…)

The only one that comes to mind is the word “don” as in don clothes for put on clothes. I don’t say it, but I write it sometimes.

Twosome: the– heck you say? Okay, how about a ‘regional’ saying you’re known to be fond of? You know, the one the relatives just don’t get when you say it on the phone… Sure, slang will work!

Regional? I probably move around a little too often to really get entrenched in one place to pick up any slang. I usually don’t hang out with people who use a lot of slang either, so it’s hard for me to think of an example.

When I was still a sophomore in college, there was a girl who had moved into the dorm and she often used the word “wicked” to describe something cool. At the time, I thought it was a really weird way to use that word. Well, I still think it’s weird, although now, it also sounds outdated to my ears.

Threesome: Season–ings for the season? Mulled cider? Peppermint bark? Apple pie? What do you look forward to in the Winter months?

I’m cold. Any hot drink will do.

