by syaffolee

Memes

Well, I’m a bit late on this, but I suppose it’s understandable since I’ve been in airplanes all day. I just wish there were more non-stop flights available. It’s no fun flying to Chicago (heh, see below) and Salt Lake City when you have absolutely no desire to be in those places at that particular time.

* * *
Booking Through Thursday: Anticipation

What new books are you looking forward to most in 2008? Something new being published this year? Something you got as a gift for the holidays? Anything in particular that you’re planning to read in 2008 that you’re looking forward to? A classic, or maybe a best-seller from 2007 that you’re waiting to appear in paperback?

I have a bunch of books in my “to be read” pile which I probably should get through sooner or later. Currently I’m in the middle of Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett. There are some other Gaiman books on my shelf, Dragonhaven by Robin McKinley (I’ve mentioned her before), and a lot of other stuff.

As for books published in 2008, I’m mostly oblivious to what’s being published unless it’s an author that I follow or I happen to go to the bookstore and library and examine the WHAT’S NEW shelves. So right now, I’m just aware of the books coming out by the authors that I have mentioned in previous memes.

* * *
The Thursday Threesome: “Twenty-five or Six to Four”

Onesome: Twenty-five?– Good age to be? …or bad age to survive? Can you look back at this time without cringing? …or are you there yet?

Age has nothing to do with how good or bad life is. It’s experiences. Just because my twenty-fifth year was crap doesn’t mean that other people also experienced crappy years when they were twenty-five. They could have had a brilliant year–depending on what happened to them.

Twosome: or Six– ways to help yourself out? …or maybe just one? If you could send a piece of advice for yourself at twenty-five, what would it be? …and if you are twenty-five? Well, can the gang here answer any questions for you?

I’m not sure I would have listened to much advice when I was twenty-five. I’m not sure I would listen to certain advice now. I hate to be told how to do things, even if it’s from myself.

Threesome: to Four– pounds of See’s candy over the holidays? Did you survive ‘growing season’? How’s it looking out there? I’ve already seen the displays up for Valentine’s Day! Can we survive the constant onslaught of the chocolatiers?

How can we survive? By not buying the stuff in the first place. Actually, in a sort of twisted way, it’s helpful that stores have holiday displays so far in advance. It annoys me enough that I ignore all of them when I’m out restocking on milk and bread.

Bonus points: Who did this song and when?

The band Chicago in 1970. I’m no song buff. I’ve never heard of this song until this meme. I just looked it up in Wikipedia.

