by syaffolee

I’m Not Hiding the Inkstone

Asian American Students and School Stereotypes (via Angry Asian Man). I have mixed feelings about this. On one hand, I find it sad that these students feel a need to act “white” (i.e. not acting foreign or like a nerd) to fit in, yet I totally understand why they’re doing it. Anyways, I see this more as Asian American students adopting western attitudes and lifestyles. Which sometimes seems just as well since everywhere is becoming “westernized”.

I was thinking about my own attitudes and I must admit, I’m pretty Americanized. But that doesn’t mean that I want to start wearing Ralph Lauren, get a membership to a country club, and surround myself with only white friends. Heck, I’ll run the other way. I’m not afraid to admit that I’m nerdy, grew up on rice, or that I’ve listened to Cantopop more than once. Maybe people tailor their behavior in order to be accepted. But I find myself much happier finding a balance between the cultures rather than denying one in favor of another in a misguided attempt to gain conditional approval.

