by syaffolee

Memes

Booking Through Thursday: After The Honeymoon

Have you ever fallen out of love with a favorite author? Was the last book you read by the author so bad, you broke up with them and haven’t read their work since? Could they ever lure you back?

I don’t think this has really happened to me. I may go for long periods of time not reading anything by an author, but it has more about me as a reader rather than the author. That is, I’m not in the mood for those kinds of stories, which has nothing to do with the quality of writing.

Of course, there is bad writing out there. I’m not disputing that. But I can usually tell within the first book I pick up by that author. Or first chapter. Or even the first page. If there’s nothing redeeming about the writing, I put the book down and ignore the author’s subsequent works.

* * *
The Thursday Threesome: Tea For Two

Onesome: Tea– leaves and fortune tellers? Is there anything you do out of habit because of old sayings? …like not stepping on cracks or staying home on Friday the Thirteenth? …or eating chocolate on Valentine’s Day?

No. I don’t believe in superstitions.

Twosome: for– every time you make it to work or class or an appointment on time, how many times are you late? Just curious…

I’m almost always on time. If I’m late, I have a reason to be.

Threesome: Two– weeks and the next day is only there twenty-five percent of the time! Does Leap Year have any special meaning to you? …or is it just one more day of the week?

It’s just another day for me.

