by syaffolee

Various Things

Booking Through Thursday: Hero

Who is your favorite male lead character? And why?

This is a really hard question because I don’t think of male characters in terms of being favorite or likable or even interesting. But are they relatable? The first one that popped into my head was Will from The Dark Is Rising by Susan Cooper. I wouldn’t say Will is my favorite, he just represents the kind of story I liked reading during my preteens–where some seemingly ordinary kid gets swept up into something extraordinary.

The second character who came to mind was Ghairen, the titular poison master in Liz William’s The Poison Master. He isn’t the main character, but he is a major character. Ghairen is an example of a character I wouldn’t get annoyed with–ambiguous, complex, dangerous. Part of his appeal, I think, is that he was a bit of an unknown quantity.

* * *
The Thursday Threesome :Choreography: The art of symbolically representing dancing

Onesome: Choreography: What do you choreograph in your life? Your morning routine? The dinner ritual? How you study? What is ‘designed’ by you?

My life isn’t choreographed. Yes, I have meals at approximately the usual times and try to go to bed and wake up consistently, but sometimes, that doesn’t happen.

Twosome: The art of symbolically: Art? Hmmmm… Sure, what do you like to have? …or do you? …but how about that little symbol you keep on your desk or headboard? The one you keep because??? I mean, if you can share that…

I have no art at home. It’s just stark white walls.

Threesome: representing dancing: No, not ‘do you dance?’ (although that’s fine too!); rather, which type(s) of dancing will you stop and watch for a moment? Ballroom? Swing? Patrick Swayze and Jennifer Grey?

I watched one of those ballroom competitions on PBS once. Otherwise, I suppose I could care less.

* * *
Tangled Bank #100: Bad Flu Edition. Wow, 100 already? Anyways, go read some interesting science articles!

* * *
And, all the way at the end where no one will be bothering to read: I have a short story (The Nurturing Instinct) out in Ballista. Too bad I can’t make the launch party. It’s in the UK and there’s this thing called LAB…

