by syaffolee

Memes

Booking Through Thursday: The End

You’ve just reached the end of a book . . . what do you do now? Savor and muse over the book? Dive right into the next one? Go take the dog for a walk, the kids to the park, before even thinking about the next book you’re going to read? What?

It’s a mix between my mood at the time and an author’s competence. If the book has a definite end and I find it to be worthwhile or entertaining, I would probably wait a bit (at least until the next day) before starting another book. If it has a definite end and is bad, I might do several things–immediately start another book in an attempt to wipe it from my mind, stop reading for a couple days in disgust, or write a review of it.

If I like the book and it’s to be continued, I generally want to read the next book right away. Sometimes I already have the sequel on hand so that starting immediately is not a problem. But when I don’t, I just have to put up with the frustration of waiting. And if the book is mediocre or bad, I really have no inclination to find the next book unless I’ve read something positive somewhere indicating that the author is getting better.

* * *
The Thursday Threesome: Anyone can miss a Day

Onesome: Anyone– Has anyone made an impression on you lately? No, not on the national level, but at work or school or just ‘around’. …or even here on the web?

Not really. Just the same people at school. And I’ve been too busy to be scouring the web for new and interesting weblogs.

Twosome: can Miss– Speaking of webbish things (and of course we are!), what types of things do you take a miss on at your place and chose not to post about? Just curious…

There are a lot of things I don’t post about. Generally, I stay away from potentially inflammatory topics like politics.

Threesome: a Day– On a similar note: do you post every day? …or just whenever? …or is every session at the computer a spur to work up a little something?

I have to be motivated to post something. And have the time to, of course.

