by syaffolee

Click ‘n Read

Tangled Bank #103 is over at rENNISance woman on the Nature Network. Read about the world’s oldest tree, the transmission mechanism of mad cow disease and its ilk, and monkeys vs. computers–who will write the better book?

* * *
Booking Through Thursday: Vocabulary

Suggested by Nithin:

I’ve always wondered what other people do when they come across a word/phrase that they’ve never heard before. I mean, do they jot it down on paper so they can look it up later, or do they stop reading to look it up on the dictionary/google it or do they just continue reading and forget about the word?

Does anyone remember a method of reading called “context reading”? I was introduced to it in fourth grade–you would read a passage that had a couple of unfamiliar words and then afterwards, answer some questions to see if you caught the meanings, by context.

That’s what I usually do when I come across an unfamiliar word while reading. I don’t stop to jot it down or interrupt myself by grabbing the dictionary. I try to glean the word’s meaning within its environment. If I can’t figure it out, I make a mental note of it to look it up later and move on.

* * *
The Thursday Threesome: Visualize Whirled Peas

This is the problem with long-time participants to memes. They remember stuff. I answered these questions a little over two years ago. I still stand by my answers, by the way.

