by syaffolee

Memes

Booking Through Thursday: Mayday!

Quick! It’s an emergency! You just got an urgent call about a family emergency and had to rush to the airport with barely time to grab your wallet and your passport. But now, you’re stuck at the airport with nothing to read. What do you do??

And, no, you did NOT have time to grab your bookbag, or the book next to your bed. You were . . . grocery shopping when you got the call and have nothing with you but your wallet and your passport (which you fortuitously brought with you in case they asked for ID in the ethnic food aisle). This is hypothetical, remember….

Well, if it’s an emergency, I probably won’t be in any frame of mind to be reading. Most likely, I’d be sitting around, twiddling my thumbs, and tuning out airport music.

But if I did have a yen for reading and my only option would be one of the airport newsstands (disregarding the closest airport which has absolutely nothing at all since it only has ONE gate), I’d probably go to the magazines first. Depending on what’s available and what is closest to me, I’ll look at some of the science-y mags like National Geographic or Discover and then maybe some of the more high profile news-lit magazines like The New Yorker, Atlantic Monthly and Harper’s. And then I’ll browse any cooking magazines. As for novels, airports usually only carry bestsellers and other mainstream books which I tend to avoid. I also avoid newspapers–simply because they’re incredibly unwieldy.

* * *
The Thursday Threesome: The Magic Month of May

Onesome: The magic– of Spring? Has it started yet where you are? …or if you’re ‘down under’, how is Autumn progressing?

Spring? Sure, although I still half expect it to snow.

Twosome: month of– transition? Are you looking to be out of school? …to have the kids out of school? No? Heh. How about just thinking about where you want to go this Summer? …maybe within walking distance, -no?

After the following week is over, I’ll be able to relax–a little. As for the summer, well, it’s going to be kind of stress filled since I will still be in school.

Threesome: May– I ask you if you know which song the title for today’s piece was taken from? I’m thinking Laanba has a chance at it, but any fan of Dumbledore’s original actor might know it…

I have no idea. Someone with more time on their hands might be able to google it up.

