by syaffolee

Memes

Booking Through Thursday: Manual Labor Redux

Scenario: You’ve just bought some complicated gadget home . . . do you read the accompanying documentation? Or not? Do you ever read manuals? How-to books? Self-help guides? Anything at all?

It depends on whether or not I’ve used the gadget before. And how patient I am at wading through the documentation. If I’ve used it before, no. If I haven’t, I’d probably only read the relevant bits of information in the manual. And yes, I’ve read manuals before–or rather just parts of them. (For instance, I don’t read the troubleshooting section unless I actually have something to troubleshoot.) It’s the same with how-to books. I only go to the section that is relevant to me. Self-help, I don’t read them. As for anything at all–I’m not sure what you mean by this question. Is it rhetorical? Well sometimes I go to the internet to search for help.

* * *
The Thursday Threesome: Mark My Words

Onesome: Mark–ing devices? What do you use to mark things up around the house, school, work, wherever? Does the Sharpie rule? …or do you believe in the sanctity of the pencil?

Geez, when did I last use a pencil? Maybe last year on an exam? Or maybe I did it in pen. Anyways, when I’m labeling things in lab, it’s always in Sharpie. When I write something down, it’s in black pen. Or it might be in some other color if I’ve found that all the black ones have mysteriously disappeared.

Twosome: “My– day starts off best when I……” I’ll let you fill in the blank at your place!

…am awake.

Threesome: Words– of a feather clump together? Nah, but hey: what word pairings do you use routinely? Are you into alliteration? …pithy comments? ‘Down home’ sayings? Give it up for Thursday!

On this blog, I use a lot of transition words like “at any rate”. I don’t have any particular fondness for the phrase, but it is the lazy way out when I’m trying to finish a post quickly.

