by syaffolee

Memes (Belated)

Booking Through Thursday: Trends

Have your book-tastes changed over the years? More fiction? Less? Books that are darker and more serious? Lighter and more frivolous? Challenging? Easy? How-to books over novels? Mysteries over Romance?

I suppose one could say that my book tastes have changed over time. See for yourself in this reading chronology starting from 1985 and my bookrolling list which has every book I’ve finished since Christmas 2001. I find it somewhat hard to articulate exactly what my reading preferences are. My philosophy is, if the book looks interesting, I’ll try it. It doesn’t matter what subject or genre. And generally, I read more serious books (i.e. non-fiction) when I’m not so flooded with work and/or stress.

* * *
The Thursday Threesome: So, Ya’ll like Music, -eh?

Aside: Isn’t the apostrophe between the wrong letters in “Ya’ll”? It should be “Y’all”, right? Even if you’re trying to do southern slang, it should be done correctly.

Onesome: So– what if everyone else does it?!? I’m different and I’m going to do it my way! Heh, what is that for you? …the peanut butter and banana sandwich? …tie-dyed seat covers for the car? …or maybe an unusual sport?

I’m quite ordinary. Not because I dislike the unusual, but it takes effort to be unusual. And usually, if you try to be unusual, you come off looking like you tried too hard. Or everyone else is also being unusual, so you really end up being ordinary anyway.

Twosome: Ya’ll– gonna’ be catchin’ any big ol’ trout this year? …any fishing people out there on the porch? Hey, even watching on TV counts for something…

The lab next door works on fish. Does that count?

Threesome: “like Music–, like friends”: we all have different varieties we listen to from time to time. How about an update on your musical tastes? Go for it!

I did a post not too long ago on soundtracks that I’ve been listening to. As I’m writing this post, I’m listening to the soundtrack for Snow Falling On Cedars. Soothing and not too intrusive, easily ignorable if you’re busy concentrating on something. And no, I have not seen the movie.

