by syaffolee

Memes

Booking Through Thursday: Holidays

It’s a holiday weekend here in the U.S., so let’s keep today’s question simple–What are you reading? Anything special? Any particularly juicy summer reading?

The only remotely salacious thing on my immediate reading queue right now is Matt Ridley’s The Red Queen. Otherwise, I’m currently making good headway through The Difference Engine by Doron Swade (previously mentioned here).

* * *
The Thursday Threesome: Summer in the City

Onesome: “Summer–time and the living is easy”… Are you taking it easy at all this Summer? …or are you grinding along day by day with no “days off” planned?

My advisor’s pretty laid back about vacation time, but I really don’t feel like taking advantage of his good will like some other grad students in the lab. So I’ve only taken two vacation days this summer–and only because my parents were visiting. Otherwise, I’m working. How much? Well, there’s this rumor going around that I don’t sleep.

Twosome: in the- Onesome is the first line from a song that was taken from a lullaby. Yeah, how about that, Laurie! Do you recognize it or the play it is taken from?

First off, my name is not Laurie. (Aside: That name and its similar derivatives, however, remind me of a girl who lived next door when I was about ten or eleven. Her mother decided to hold her back and make her repeat a grade–not because her grades were bad, they weren’t–but because she wasn’t “mature” enough. I don’t know what the hell that means, especially in regards to kids who aren’t even in their teens, but even in my young age, I thought that was an idiotic bit of parenting.)

Anyways, I think the song might be from Porgy and Bess. I’m probably wrong though.

Threesome: City– lights? Fireworks tomorrow for you? Do you have a local show to attend? …or do you kick back with sparklers and and a fountain or two? Have a safe and fun 4th, gang!

I have no idea what I’m doing tomorrow. If I do anything, it would be a spur of the moment thing.

