by syaffolee

Memes

Booking Through Thursday: Villainy

Terrorists aren’t just movie villains any more. Do real-world catastrophes such as 9/11 (and the bombs in Madrid, and the ones in London, and the war in Darfur, and … really, all the human-driven, mass loss-of-life events) affect what you choose to read?

Not really. I’ve always unconsciously avoided books about current events and fiction based on depressing historical/current events.

And, does the reality of that kind of heartless, vicious attack–which happen on smaller scales ALL the time–change the way you feel about villains in the books you read? Are they scarier? Or more two-dimensional and cookie-cutter in the face of the things you see on the news?

I take villains on a one-to-one basis. It really depends on how the author has written them and not on outside events. But that said, I do feel that most of them in fiction are cartoony. And it’s not because of the news. To me, it’s just obvious that the author has been lazy.

An unrelated aside about the previous Booking Through Thursday: Sometimes I read what everyone else is reading just to see what all the fuss is about. Although I’m feeling quite the opposite about Twilight. Generally, flaky people I know have been raving about it. The type of flaky people who hate the movies I love and think my favorite books are blasphemous. So I have little inclination to read it.

* * *
The Thursday Threesome: Memories from the Past

Onesome: Memories from– a few years back: what were you doing on 9-11?

It sounds stupid in retrospect, but I was glued to the news.

Twosome: the– thought occurs: Should this be a holiday? …or perhaps a day of remembrance with a moment of silence nationwide?

I lean towards “no” on making it a holiday. Terrible things happen every day and I think it would be more productive to take the lessons learned from the past to try to make the future better.

Threesome: Past– ‘days that will live in infamy’: do you recall any other days of tragedy that have a placeholder on your mental calendar?

This might make me sound insensitive, but no. I mean, I know about historical dates on which tragedies have occurred, but none of them have been personal.

Bonus: Who’s quote did I paraphrase in the question above?

Franklin D. Roosevelt.

