by syaffolee

Memes

Booking Through Thursday: Best

What, in your opinion, is the best book that you haven’t liked?

For fiction, it’s hands down, no exceptions: Gravity’s Rainbow by Thomas Pynchon. I mean, there’s nothing wrong with it technically. And I can see why some people rave about it thematically. But his style! I didn’t know that style could affect a book so much until I read this.

I haven’t yet read a non-fiction book that has evoked a similar reaction in me. Unless you count one recent read: Leon Kass’ Life, Liberty, and the Defense of Dignity. Kass sometimes goes on these rhetorical tirades with insufficient reasoning to back up his claims. And I find myself thinking: What? Really?!! OMG, I can’t believe you said that. ARG! Or it could be due to ideological differences.

* * *
The Thursday Threesome: Your Mileage May Vary

Onesome: Your– ability to see beyond the horizon is limited only by your imagination. Discuss!

Or if you want to be literal about it, technology. Of course, with satellites encircling the globe, there really isn’t any horizon.

Twosome: mileage may– be lower for some drivers due to variables like under-inflated tires or speeding up to get to the next red light. Hmmm… Any tips out there for those trying to stretch their fuel dollars?

Don’t drive up hills if you can help it.

Threesome: Vary– this, vary that, and pretty soon you’ve broken up a routine. Here’s one: what routine of yours really needs to have a little variation introduced? (I’ll exclude changing the flavor of your Friday evening ice cream snack; while a little change may be good, radical events should be planned out!)

My schedule has been a bit erratic these days anyway, so I’m not sure what sort of routine to talk about. Although I did dream that it snowed last night. That would certainly break up routine if it really happened.

