by syaffolee

Thoughts on Tomorrow

So, tomorrow will be the first time I’ll actually be able to vote in a general election. (For those of you not in the know, I got my American citizenship earlier this year. Finally.) And honestly? I’m feeling pessimistic and morose.

I’m not the kind of person who listens to television ads or chatty news commentators. Heck, I don’t even own a television. I throw away political propaganda that’s been plastered to my apartment door without a second look. I don’t listen to other people–even if they’re nice people who I personally know. Instead, I’ve attempted to find news and information sources on the internet. (But the safe bet, perhaps, is to assume bias in everything.) Mostly, I’ve concluded it’s basically choices between greater and lesser evils–although some candidates’ positions make me cringe so hard, the decision becomes almost a no-brainer.

But what can I expect? This is Idaho. Sure, I’ll vote. It’s the principle of the thing. But in practicality? The mammoth of the expected will swamp whatever the choice. One could call this state two years ago and not be wrong.

