by syaffolee

Overheard Conversations and Memes

Driving in the Dark

Grad Student #1: It’s getting sort of stuffy in here. We need some air.

Grad Student #2: I think the vent is over here…

(Click!)

Grad Student #1: AAARRRG!!

PI: What’s going on back there?

Grad Student #1: My eyes!

Grad Student #2: Oops. I accidentally turned on the lights.

* * *
Watch Where You’re Going

Grad Student #3: I can’t believe he said that! My boss is great! Maybe he’s implying that I’m a bad TA.

Undergrad: Maybe you should tell him that you’re awesome.

Grad Student #3: (flaunting off) That’s right! I’ll tell him I’m totally cool! (trips over garbage can)

* * *
Booking Through Thursday: Why Buy?

I’ve asked, in the past, about whether you more often buy your books, or get them from libraries. What I want to know today, is, WHY BUY?

Even if you are a die-hard fan of the public library system, I’m betting you have at least ONE permanent resident of your bookshelves in your house. I’m betting that no real book-lover can go through life without owning at least one book. So … why that one? What made you buy the books that you actually own, even though your usual preference is to borrow and return them?

If you usually buy your books, tell me why. Why buy instead of borrow? Why shell out your hard-earned dollars for something you could get for free?

The reasons differ, depending on the book. If it’s non-fiction, especially textbooks, I buy instead of checking it out of the library because I want easy access to it at any time. It’s not a matter of getting things for free–but of convenience.

If it’s fiction, it depends. Sometimes I collect certain books. Other times, I’m anxious about a new book coming out and I don’t want to wait at the library. At book sales or at used bookstores, I can be a little impulsive because something catches my eye and it’s cheap. It’s also the on hand thing again. If I’m in the mood to read something right now, I can be lazy and pick something off the shelf and not have to take time to go to the library.

