by syaffolee

Let’s Pretend It’s Yesterday

Booking Through Thursday: Authors Talking. Do you read any author’s blogs? If so, are you looking for information on their next project? On the author personally? Something else?

I read authors’ blogs sporadically–mostly to find out about their latest work. Sometimes I’m interested in what they have to say about the writing process or other kinds of issues related to publishing. Sometimes it’s other issues in general. I gloss over personal posts, though. I’m not interested in what they had for breakfast, what their kids did over the weekend, or how they felt when the bagger at the local grocery looked at them strangely.

One thing I wished authors’ blogs talked more about is books they’ve read that didn’t work for them. Books that have failed expectations. Boring books. Books that they hate with a passion. I’m really curious as to what they feel would be a failure of craft. Yes, I know this might result in catfights and boycotts by rabid fans and, well, making enemies of other authors isn’t exactly something to aspire to. I’m not thinking about bashing–more like critical analysis. But I doubt most authors have any inclination to do this since some people might view this as shooting their own reputation in the head.

