by syaffolee

From Yesterday

Booking Through Thursday: Storage. How do you arrange your books on your shelves? Is it by author, by genre, or you just put it where it falls on?

I would like to organize my books by author, but at the moment, the order of all my books are a mess. Non-fiction is mixed in with the fiction. The only sort of order they might be in–and my memory is a little foggy on this–is the order in which I obtained the books. I have also been trying to keep all my unread books in the same location so I could have a reading list, in all its cluttery 3D glory.

* * *
Last night, when I was eating dinner, I heard my neighbor upstairs start up the vacuum cleaner. This wasn’t particularly unusual until the whir of the vacuum was interrupted with a rrrrack-ck-ck-ck-ck-rrrrack-ck-ck-ck-ck as if a disgruntled housewife had taken a chainsaw to the kitchen floor. What the heck?

* * *
I also attended a seminar yesterday. It was supposed to be part of a series put out by my department. But I knew I had dropped into Never Never Land when the seminar speaker said early in her talk, “As you all know from plant physiology courses you’ve taken….” What?! I managed to hide my expression of intense bewilderment in the guise of frowning while taking copious notes–no need to alert the nice plant professor seated nearby that I had the urge to run flailing and screaming from the room rather than hear about phloems and xylems.

Well, let’s just say I found it all as enlightening as being lectured on the amino acid synthesis pathways. And as a microbiologist, maybe I’m rather biased, but I was utterly disappointed that while nitrogen fixation was a major topic, there was no mention (not even a hint!) of the bacteria involved. Is it a bad thing to say that there are some areas of science that I don’t find especially scintillating? Must I be enthusiastic all the time? There’s a reason why I study one thing and not something else.

