by syaffolee

A Meme

Booking Through Thursday: Collectibles
* Hardcover? Or paperback?
* Illustrations? Or just text?
* First editions? Or you don’t care?
* Signed by the author? Or not?

In general, I do not care about the book format. I’m more of a series completist rather than someone who views books as objects to be possessed. In other words, I’m more interested in the story, not the container it’s in. So if I manage to find a copy in a used bookstore and it’s not in the greatest condition, I’d still get it–because I want it for the story.

On author signings: I’ve never personally gotten anything signed by a writer. I think it’s cool (depending on which author it is), but I’m not sure I could tolerate standing in line and then given a signature like just another consumerist. Book signings are just another promotional tool to get people to buy more books. It’s not like most authors really give a damn about their readers.

