by syaffolee

Ack! Not Enough Time in the Day

Why the hell does everyone want the results yesterday?

So my committee chair is demanding a “lab meeting” next Monday so that I can present my results on Project A. I have a big experiment for Project B scheduled on Friday and I had been planning to take a rare break during the weekend so I could be more energized next week to concentrate on Project A. What this means is that I will be in lab all weekend (again). My advisor was thisclose to seeing me freak out in his office a couple hours earlier when I got hit with this meeting out of the blue.

And yes, there are other weekly lab meetings and I do have another real committee meeting scheduled. (Which begs the question, why couldn’t the chair wait?) Graduate students are lackeys. I’m reminded of this every day. People do not need to bash me over the head with this fact.

