by syaffolee

If Workaholics Anonymous Had A Twelve Step Program…

As someone remarked earlier today, it seems that I have terrible luck whenever I bump into my committee chair. Last time I saw him was this past weekend when I tried to sneak out of lab for lunch. He not so subtly hinted that I should get cracking on my project. I really wanted to say, what do you think I’ve been sacrificing all my weekends for–tie-dyeing my lab coat? But of course, self-preservation prevented me from saying that aloud.

Another grad student complained about a class she was taking which made me wonder: is it kosher for a professor to e-mail a take home exam on Saturday morning and expect it turned in on Monday morning? Are grad students not supposed to have weekends? Are we supposed to work every day like perpetual motion machines?

