First Notes for Next Month’s Insanity

by syaffolee

I recently signed up for Julnowrimo.  The last time I tried writing 50,000 words in the month of July (a fantasy western back in 2004), I got halfway and stopped.  I tried picking it back up the following year but I only managed a chapter or two more before I stopped again.  The problem, I think, was similar to all the trouble I had finishing the scripts that I had started prior to this year’s Script Frenzy–lack of planning.  I had a cast of characters and a destination, but I really didn’t have any idea what was going to happen in between.

For July’s story, I’m revisiting one of the ideas I discarded for last year’s Nanowrimo which had involved Iceland, wacky chase scenes, and the Midgard serpent.  This time, though, I’m just going to keep the Midgard serpent (he will become a main character), eliminate the chase scenes (they’re not that interesting anyway), and change the setting (some place that is more boggy and less icy).  And since I will be borrowing heavily from Norse mythology, I’m going to bypass a lot of the headache of picking character names.

Outlining the events in the story is another matter.  Most of the work comes from figuring out what makes the journey from point A to point B so interesting.  There will definitely be more lightning and less bananas.

