Starting That Summer Writing Binge

by syaffolee

Despite all that brain storming in June, I ended up getting an idea about two or three days before the start of it all.  It’s wacky and crazy and not serious at all–but that’s the whole point.  I think it has huge comedic potential, but it could very well fall flat on its face considering the fact that my sense of humor is not the same as everyone else’s.

The first day’s writing was slow, but that was to be expected.  It was a Friday, after all, and I don’t have the luxury of a summer vacation.  But things picked up on Saturday, particularly when I started organizing those writing sprints on Twitter that almost no one else follows.

My goal is to get to at least 10,000 words before the end of this three-day weekend.  If I’m lucky, I’d like to get to 50k a week early so I can start planning for August–because I have absolutely no idea what to write about next month.  None.  Nada.  Zip.

Anyways, I’m also currently documenting this month’s progress on my Nano website.  The project is called Temperance and the Devil.  The tagline is: “She’s a showgirl searching for the perfect drink. He lives for chaos but turns into a cat whenever the sun comes up. The problem is, they’re the only ones standing between Vegas and utter destruction.”  Somebody else said it sounded like a cross between Good Omens and Ladyhawke.  I’ve read the former but haven’t watched the latter so I’ll just let others decide whether that particular combination is a win or a complete disaster.

