The Devil on My Shoulder Has Nothing on the Inner Editor

by syaffolee

I think my inner editor escaped from the “jail” I stuck it in during the Nanowrimo kick-off party because after I wrote the first chapter, I was assailed with a multitude of doubts about whether or not I should scrap the entire thing and start over again. This is probably my first Nanowrimo where I’ve been seriously reconsidering my idea right at the start. The point of view is all wrong, the scene is all wrong, the wording–just, ugh.

I could blame it on sleep deprivation or not being prepared, but let’s face it, I can be pretty picky about my own work if I’m in the right frame of mind. And in this case, I’m in the wrong frame of mind. This is no time to be picky. I just need to write. In past years, I’ve seen other participants completely scrap their initial efforts and do a rewrite. I’ve always thought that was kind of silly–for the purposes of Nanowrimo, why erase the words you’ve already written? It’s just going to set you back. You can always cut it later.

So, that’s what I’m going to do. To appease the inner editor, I may cut the first chapter later. But meanwhile, it’s still here, taking up space as an “alternate timeline.” I don’t feel too guilty leaving it in since the novel is about parallel universes anyway. I might as well keep all the “parallel” scenes.

Meanwhile, for the curious and masochistic, I’m posting everything I write for Knots & Anchors here.

