Traffic and Other Circular Thoughts

by syaffolee

I’ve spent a lot of time in the car in the place I lived before as well as the place I live now. The difference between the two is that I spent a lot of time driving in Montana because locations are so far apart. Here in San Diego, it’s not really about the distance. It’s about being stuck in traffic. But either way, most of the time I don’t really mind it. In Montana, you’re smack dab in the middle of fantastic natural settings. In the city, you’re simply smack dab in the middle of everything with tons of stuff to do.

I don’t really think of myself as rural- or urban-inclined. But I do know that I still hate suburbs. I grew up in suburbs where the scenery was middling and there was very little to do for fun. Oh, I’m sure other people had fun, but it was probably fun of the social kind. I was (and still am) a loner. I like fun stuff that I could do myself.

* * *

As another Labor Day Weekend is looming ahead, that means it’s the 3-Day Novel Contest again. I’m doing it unofficially this year. Sure, submitting gives you accountability, but with the massive move this month, I basically had zero time to plan anything except to come up with a genre and a setting.

I’ve pretty much decided to do an urban fantasy this time around. It will be set in San Diego. The great thing about doing that is that I can draw on my own experiences from living here. But since I’m still new, I will probably get things wrong. I could easily fact check by driving out to the place and changing it upon revision. But the “fantasy” part of it will give me an excuse to be lazy in the first draft. So “X” is completely different than what I describe it to be? Don’t blame me. It’s just an alternate universe.

