Postcard #16 – Silly Einstein

by syaffolee

Somewhat related to this postcard of Einstein: I’ve been watching this documentary series called Brain Games recently. On one of the episodes, an optical illusion was given in which a picture looked like Einstein up close but far away it looked like Marilyn Monroe. In other words, how you perceive a picture is all “relative”.

Arguably, Einstein is the most well known scientist or is at least one of the first to come to mind for non-scientists. And because of that, I sort of feel that he’s overplayed. Yes, he did a lot for physics, but there are so many other people in the sciences–or even in physics if you just want to limit yourself to that field. In my Postcrossing profile, I simply request people to surprise me with what they send. Einstein isn’t that surprising. But if you were to send me one of Barbara McClintock…

postcard016a

 

