Postcard #28 – A Random Smiling Kid

by syaffolee

Is it just me, or does the sender have really good handwriting for a twelve year old? Or is it that there are a lot of grownups out there who write worse than a twelve year old? I don’t think my handwriting was all that great when I was twelve, but then again, it’s quite possible that I’m not remembering correctly. I don’t have any handwriting samples from back then to compare. However, I do know that by the time I got to high school, my handwriting had pretty much ossified into its current form.

Anyways, the most interesting thing I find about this postcard from Ukraine is that it depicts the country’s traditional dress. Some countries can do this and everyone immediately thinks, “Ah, it’s that country,” without further question. Which makes me wonder, what’s the national dress for the United States? I don’t think America has one. There are so many ethnicities and subcultures in this country that it’s pretty much impossible to pick one to represent everyone.

postcard028a

 

