The Great Train Escape 2016

by syaffolee

Wow, long time no posts. Well, I hope to make up for it with some pictures to my recent trip to San Francisco for the Night of Writing Dangerously, a write-a-thon put on by the good folks at National Novel Writing Month.

Getting there, of course, was half the fun. I organized “The Great Train Escape” which is basically a day long write-in on the train, specifically the Coast Starlight, as it goes up the Southern Californian coast from Los Angeles to Oakland. The logistics of organizing such a large write-in for a bunch of random people who I mostly knew through NaNoWriMo isn’t something that one can really do on the fly. After learning a lot from the previous year’s Great Train Escape, I began planning for this one probably about six months in advance.

During the train ride, I talked to and wrote with many interesting NaNoWriMo participants. And it reminded me of why I love NaNoWriMo so much. The participants are such a diverse group, but we all somehow get along so well because of our shared interests in writing.

img_0038

img_0044

img_0047

img_0061

img_0066

img_0075

img_0086

img_0088

img_0089

